Header Ads

Private hospitals told to obtain NABH certification

Image result for NABH certification

Twenty-five private hospitals in the district empanelled under the Chief Minister’s Comprehensive Health Insurance Scheme have received instructions to obtain NABH (National Accreditation Board for Hospitals) certification to be eligible for the next round of empanelling within a year’s time.

Only 12 out of the 37 private hospitals in Tiruchi district, empanelled under the insurance scheme, have received entry-level certification of NABH so far.

Barring the Srirangam Government Hospital, which has initiated the process for NABH accreditation, nine other government hospitals and the KAP Viswanatham Government Medical College, which are empanelled under the scheme, are yet to make any move, it has been learnt.

An orientation programme was conducted by the Health Department here on Sunday under the aegis of Tamil Nadu Health Systems Project for guidance on entry-level certification.

Orientation programme

The participants comprised representatives of government and private hospitals, most of which are categorised as Small Health Care Organisation (SHCO), from Dindigul, Cuddalore, Thanjavur, Pudukottai, Karur, and Nagapattinam.

Since a large number of hospitals face challenges and difficulties in implementing all the accreditation standards, NABH has developed pre-accreditation entry level certification standards in consultation with various stake holders as a stepping stone for enhancing the quality of patient care and safety.

Once the pre-accreditation entry level certification is achieved, the HCO can then prepare and move to the next stage, ‘progressive level’, and finally to ‘full accreditation’ status.

The applicant hospital must have conducted self-assessment against the NABH pre-accreditation entry level standards after implementing it for at least three months before submission of the application and must ensure that it complies with the standards, the manual stated.

Pre-accreditation entry level standards contain the requirement, which is almost one-fourth of the full accreditation standards. SHCO entry-level requirements focus on the minimum critical elements important for patient safety.


No comments

Powered by Blogger.