Header Ads

Diversion of four trains resented

Image result for trichy nagercoil train

With railway administration announcing that four trains that pass through Erode railway station will be diverted in Salem – Namakkal – Karur stretch, rail passengers in the district wanted the announcement to be withdrawn.

Train number 16733 Rameshwaram – Okha Express and train number 16734 Ohka – Rameshwaram Express were currently operated through Salem – Erode- Karur – Dindigul stations.

However, the railways had recently announced that the two trains would not touch Erode junction and instead pass through Salem – Namakkal – Karur from March 6, 2018. Passengers, especially devotees, who visit the pilgrimage town regularly, said that they could reach Rameshwaram in seven hours while bus journey took more time.

K.N. Basha, president of the minority cell of Congress’ district unit and former member, Zonal Railway Users’ Consultative Committee, said that devotees were visiting in large numbers to Rameshwaram by the train.

He wanted the railway board to intervene and maintain status quo.

Likewise, the railways had also announced that train number 12689 Chennai Central – Nagercoil (Weekly) Super Fast Express and train number 12690 Nagercoil – Chennai Central (Weekly) Super Fast Express currently operated in Tiruchi – Karur – Erode – Salem direction would be diverted at Salem to reach Namakkal – Karur- Tiruchi


No comments

Powered by Blogger.