Header Ads

St. Joseph’s College triumphs

St. Joseph’s College has won the men’s title in the Bharathidasan University inter-zonal inter-collegiate football tournament.

Nine colleges in Tiruchi zone and 10 colleges in Thanjavur zone took part in the tournament. Tiruchi zone comprised Tiruchi, Karur, Perambalur and Ariyalur districts while Thanjavur zone consisted of Thanjavur, Nagapattinam, Tiruvarur and Pudukottai districts.

Two colleges from each zone – St. Joseph’s College and Bishop Heber College (Tiruchi zone) and J.J. College of Arts and Science, Pudukottai, and Khadir Mohideen College, Adirampattinam, (Thanjavur zone) – qualified for the inter-zonal four-team league held here recently.

St. Joseph’s College won all its matches in the four-team league to finish on top. Bishop Heber College, with two wins, took the runner-up spot. J.J. College of Arts and Science, with a single victory, finished third.

Rev.Fr. Leonard Fernando, Rector, St. Joseph’s College, Rev.Fr.A. Antony Pappuraj, secretary, Rev.Fr.F. Andrew, Principal, Rev.Fr.M. Berchmans, sports coordinator, and A. Prem Edwin, director of physical education, felicitated the team members and coach R. Inbamani.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.